Find
Notify
Tools
The Bibles
 Login/Join 
<Robert Underwood>
posted
Mark,

As an instructor, I find the more I read the less I know, so I have to read more to learn even less for sure. As you can see this could become a viscious circle. Here are some of my favorites by subject.

Arboriculture - Harris
New Tree Biology - Shigo
Modern Arboriculture - Shigo (For quicker answers when dealin with general public)
Tree Climbers Companion - Jepson
Urban Soil in Landscape Design - Craul
Diseases of Trees and Shrubs - Sinclair

And for the real skinny on everything of importance: The Knothole - Carlson

These are what lay on the seat of my truck for the summer among the saws, pruners, potato chip bags and pop cans. It gives them that distressed look that makes the student think you actually use them in the fall.

Happy reading. Bob Underwood

Report This Post
<Bob Wulkowicz>
posted
Reply to post by Robert Underwood, on February 13, 1999 at 11:51:48:

Underwood,

Be careful about revealing your secrets where students may read them. But the picture of your slowly filling pickup cab with empty bags and cans does help explain the increasing amount of right-side fender damage as the school year draws closer.

Rotund Bob

P.S. Excellent list of books too.

Report This Post
<Russ Carlson>
posted

>>As an instructor, I find the more I read the less I know, so I have to read more to learn even less for sure. As you can see this could become a viscious circle.

I think you have defined an expert, Bob. An expert is expected to have read all the literature on a subject, ultimately knowing nothing about it at all.

Report This Post
<Paul Johnson>
posted

Thank you for sharing your list of books.

The more I read the more questions I have.