Tree Tech Consulting    The Knothole  Hop To Forum Categories  Trees & Law    Who Ownes a Fallen Tree

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Who Ownes a Fallen Tree
 Login/Join 
<Don>
posted
Wind blew our tree down onto a neighbors yard. Is it my responsibility to remove it or his. (Legaly?)

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
I do not live in the USA but I would be inclined to think that you would be legally responsible for your tree that fell onto someone elses property. In the UK it would be considered trespass and you have a duty of care to prevent such things happening. Not clearing up your tree is not very neighbourly but as with a lot of cases neighbour disputes can be very complicated.

Posts: 56 | Location: Auckland, NZ | Registered: Monday March 28, 2005Report This Post
posted Hide Post
i'm not a lawyer or insurance agent.

But, from what i've seen trees blown down etc. are considered acts of God. An insurance man once explained to me, that if a tree fell across 4 yards, and the middle yard was uninsured, they don't get nothing from tree 'owners' or insurance etc. The insurance companies have it fixed like that; laws following or coerced to their lead...

Now, we did have a case where an elderly Lady, next to a HighSchool; at the edge of her property,w ehre she didn't go, leaving the kids alone,a nd hoping to be left alone was liable, for a large fallen branch; becasue it was dead, therefore ruled a standing hazard that she allowed to exist.

It didn't matter that the student parked the mustang convertible in a no parking zone, cuz was hiding and had no permit, nor that about 10 large limbs had died cuz the school had butchered them/ stobbed them off! The rest of the trees were healthy, except these improper cut branchings; which were towards the school/on her blind side.