Tree Tech Consulting    The Knothole  Hop To Forum Categories  Trees & Law    NJ Tree Law

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
NJ Tree Law
 Login/Join 
posted
Have a tree on my property in New Brunswick, NJ. Branchs are over my neighbous property. She is very nasty. I am concerned if they fall on here house as they seem close to doing so. Who is responsible to trim those branches? What city entity can I ask or write to to show I was pro-active in this problem? If I trim them she'll sue for trespassing, if I don't & they fall on her house she sue for damages, I want to do the roght thing & protect my self & property.
Thank you

Posts: 1 | Registered: Tuesday November 28, 2006Report This Post
RCA #354
BCMA #PD0008b
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Neighbor situations always seem to be the most contentious and confusing. I have to state here that I am not a lawyer and cannot offer legal advice, and the comments made here should not be taken as legal advice.

First, you are technically responsible for the safety of your trees. Although your neighbor has a right to prune overhanging branches, she is not obligated to do so. Also, she cannot sue you to force you to take action if nothing has occurred yet. However, if she were to ask you to do something about it and you did nothing, you had constructive notice of the problem and would have a tough time defending the case.

So there are three options in a case such as yours. 1. You prune the trees to avoid the possibility of damage. 2. Your neighbor prunes the trees to protect her property. 3. No one does anything until damage occurs.