Tree Tech Consulting    The Knothole  Hop To Forum Categories  Construction & Hazards    Liberty Tree

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Liberty Tree
 Login/Join 
<Bob Wulkowicz>
posted
Just got back in town and am squatting at my own machine--actually it's still that damn Windoze beast and so I really must reassemble the old mac.

But I'm really writing to say that I rolled over a page in my Chicago Trib today and discovered Russ in an article.

The subject was a difficult one for me and I am compelled to ask the consideration of the saving of the tree. Granted that I have no first hand knowledge of it or the circumstances, but considering the status of the tree and this apparently national interest, I believe this can be an important demonstration project and would hope that things aren't locked in stone.

I also realize the sensitivities that can get involved in this sort of situation, so I'll not engage in any strident postures, but we must look at alternatives. Since I have also been a public safety designer for more than 15 years, I'd like to hold off the generalizations about hazardness for the moment and try to better understand the specifics.

bob

Report This Post
<Russ Carlson>
posted
Reply to post by Bob Wulkowicz, on October 19, 1999 at 23:05:47:

It is a sad thing to have to say a tree like this has to go. The analysis was complete, the results incontrovertible (IMO). This is a high use public area. We looked at alternatives, including various support systems. Part of the problem is cost. It is exorbitant to consider a system that will hold the tree up. Compare to SULE, with emphasis on the SAFE part. Finally, decay so progressed that there is almost nothing left to attach bolts or cables to. Not much else to say.

Report This Post
<JPS>
posted
Reply to post by Bob Wulkowicz, on October 19, 1999 at 23:05:47:

Storms Wreck U.S. Liberty Trees

Associated Press

Last Updated: Oct. 19, 1999 at 9:15:13 a.m.